1st World Observations

I was born in 1993. I can honestly say I’ve seen a lot of change in technology, social media, human interaction,  personal values, and so much more. As I stated in my first post I don’t claim to know all things. Remember, I’m just a youth. However, I feel like I’ve seen a lot of change.

So often I see these memes (pictures of people doing/expressing something with a worded caption edited onto the picture) that refer to 90s kids and I laugh so hard and I tend to share them with my friends and use them as conversation starters for how much has changed. I think about how I’m lost when some people talk about certain movies/TV shows and they say “Oh but you grew up in this time period how have you not seen it?” My response is always “Yeah but I was probably to busy playing outside!” I never see kids playing outside like we used to and I don’t even see them running around with buckets of water or water guns during the summer months. But if you ask a child under 13 what all the background cheats for MineCraft (I know I spelled it wrong) are you’d probably get into a 15 minute conversation! Kids these days know allll about the gaming systems, handheld devices, and additional features a device has. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with knowing all about those things but my sadness develops when that’s all the kid is interested in. It saddens me when the only leverage you can have over a child is their gaming system/devices.

Like I said, I was born in 1993 so I’ve personally seen a ton of advances in technology such as cell phones, iPad, iPods, TVs, internet, 3D, and whatever else you can think of that’s way better than it was 15 years ago. It’s been pretty cool to observe but even now I’m  little out of touch with everything that’s coming out it’s like I can’t keep up!

I bought my first cell phone when I was 15. It wasn’t bought for me. I worked for my money by teaching piano and that’s how my monthly $20 bill with Virgin Mobile was paid for. So many kids feel entitled to everything now. They don’t understand what it is to work for the things they want. I had to calm a 10-year-old a few weeks ago because he was hysterical. He threw such a fit because his friend in his 4th grade class just got the iPhone 6s. My little friend was so upset that his parents wouldn’t buy him an iPhone and he was literally inconsolable for 20 minutes. We finally got him to calm down but…can you see my point?

Don’t get me wrong, I love my technology. My laptop is used at work and at home.I would’t be able to write these posts without my laptop! For those of you who know me well, I’d have a really difficult time without my phone. Literally everything is on there. But then again that makes my point. I need these things. I don’t have anything extra or excess. I need all these things for the stage of life I’m in.

I love emojis. I honestly think they are an amazing invention and I have had thousands of responses with 0 words but 1 emoji. The emoji helps the person I’m speaking to understand my facial expression since they can’t actually see my face. Technology has benefited me in many ways so I hope I don’t sound like an extremist. I’m just saying I’ve observed the changes and I see how attached children have become to their devices and systems.

Values and social media have changed a lot too. I think people really focus on how many likes/shares/comments/follows they have to an extent where they’re willing to post or not post an experience for fear of how they’ll look.

People are different and I’m different too. Everyone has their form of expression and their form of communication. Social media is just easier for some people and I get that. Just like me, with my blog. I write and post hoping someone will read and relate to me because it’s easier for me. I don’t have time to go out with people and share my thoughts and ideas with-aside from my boyfriend.

These are just observations I’ve made. They’re not all-inclusive. I haven’t observed everything. Duh. I think it’s important for people to think about how they feel about these things. How do you want your kids/future kids to be? How do you want to be?

With Love,

Angela Maria

 

 

One thought on “1st World Observations”

Leave a Reply

